Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A new Army
Yes, compliments of EBAY (well, sold by EBAY) I have bought an ECW 15mm Army. Also got some bid on assorted lose figures.

I'm relatively new to the period apart from the odd random games in my earlier gaming life (1970's, 80's and early90's).

From the description it sounds like they will need re-basing. Now I'm not sure on basing sizes, or even which rule-set I should be aiming towards. I may as well do the same rule-set the rest of the club uses.

Recommendations, or better still, an in-club expert (real or just self-proclaimed Smile, to give me a steer in what I rules should be basing on (the Army will end up Infantry heavy I think), or are they mainly the same? Also on Army list construction.

The Army hasn't arrived yet so no great urgency. I'm still using the limited time I have painting 28mm Zulus (100 out of 200 or so done now).

Big Grin
There are currently three sets of "Renaissance-era" rules being used at the Club these days. In age order (the rules, not the players!), they are:-

George Gush/WRG - Wargames Rules (1420-1700):
Still going strong, despite being of late 1970s vintage; least popular within WWS due to "book-keeping" and other issues, and basing is somewhat "roomier" than the other two (eg three 15mm musketeers are on a 45mm-wide base, instead of 40mm).

Field of Glory: Renaissance (1494-1697)
Popular, widely played, and both individuals and collective teams from WWS participate in regional and national competitions; not perfect, but not bad to play - as much because of the more mature attitude to competitions of both WWS players and those from other clubs. We are running a Southern League competition on Sunday 25th September (Italian Wars 1500-1550), with a load of "regulars" from the FoG:R circuit, which you are welcome to come and watch; I'll be the idiot with the Early Henry VIII army, but others have "gone sensible".

Basic Baroque/Basic Impetus (1550-1700)