Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
Fat Wally's Horse Painting Tips
Painting Horses

Hi.  Darren asked me yesterday if I’d do a quick bit on painting horses.  I’m no expert on this on either my knowledge of horses nor my painting skills, (despite what you say).  I get away with it in 15mm let’s say. 28mm I have absolutely no experience any more.

Painting horses isn’t rocket science.  All you need to do in my opinion (mostly) is get the right colours.  You paint a basecoat and then paint the muscles on the horse with successively smaller lighter strokes to highlight them.  Finally, and very importantly you paint the muzzle and socks/hooves.  More on that later.

Below are my list of horse types.  Whether they conform to equine definitions is beyond me.    I tend to do a lot of variety in my horse because personally it only gets boring painting them when the horses all look alike.

The first colour listed is the basecoat with successive colours as highlights going from darker to lighter. C = Citadel/GW.  V = Vallejo.  

A thing to bear in mind is that I magic wash my figures after all the highlights are done on a horse.  This darkens the finish slightly but also blends the highlights a little too.  I usually retouch the manes and tails with a very light drybrush of the last highlight for that colour horse after magic washing.

1. BLACK* – C- Abaddon Black.  V – Black Grey
2. BROWN* – C- Rhinox Hide. C- Doombull Brown. V – Black Grey mane/tail.
3. DARK BAY - C- Rhinox Hide. C- Doombull Brown.  V – Black Grey muzzle, mane/tail and below the knee.
4. DARK CHESTNUT* (i) - C- Rhinox Hide. C- Doombull Brown, C - Mournefang Brown
5. DARK CHESTNUT* (ii) - C- Rhinox Hide. C- Doombull Brown, C – Martian Ironearth
6. BAY/DUN - C - Mournefang Brown.  C – Skrag Brown. V – Black Grey muzzle, mane/tail and below the knee.
7. LIGHT BAY/LIGHT DUN (i) - C - Mournefang Brown.  C – Skrag Brown. C- Ratskin Flesh.  V – Black Grey muzzle, mane/tail and below the knee.